Travel Reservation Hotline

Call and Book Your Hotel Now!

Domestic Toll-Free for US and Canada: 1-800-997-1438

Worldwide: +1-817-983-0682

Make it happen

Choose date Choose date

Choose date

Choose date

Sharjah, UAE » City Info » Visa Requirements

While the citizens of some countries are granted visas upon their arrival at the airport, others can easily obtain it from the UAE embassies and consulates worldwide or through authorised travel agents. Citizens of the following Countries (including all 28 EU member states) will get their visa upon arrival at all UAE airports or other points of entry.

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Canada, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK, USA, Vatican City, and UK Overseas Passport holders born in China or Hong Kong.


Citizens of the Arabic Gulf Cooperation Council (AGCC) do not require visas to enter the UAE. AGCC expatriate residents who meet the requirements can get a non-renewable 30-day visa on arrival.


For all other nationalities, citizens need to get a visa through a sponsor who can be an entity including tourism establishments, hotels, airlines or company based in the UAE, or an individual, such as a UAE national, or an expatriate who is already a resident in the country.

In order to sponsor a visitor to the UAE, the following are required:

• A recent, colour personal photograph with a white background for the visa applicant.
• The visa applicant may not enter the country before 1 month has passed since their previous departure from the UAE.
• The visa applicant must provide the immigration department with a health insurance certificate from the applicant’s country.
• The immigration department will take a refundable fee of Dh1,000 per applicant as a guarantee that the applicant will leave once their visa expires.
• These procedures are subject to change without prior notice.


Multiple-entry Visas are issued to business visitors who are frequent visitors to the UAE due to their ties with a multinational company or a reputable local company. Multiple-entry Visas are valid for six months from the date of issue and the duration of each stay is 30 consecutive days.


Transit passengers staying in the country for not less than 8 hours with a valid onward ticket are eligible for a 96 hours (4 days) transit visa. It is given to passengers transferring from flights at Sharjah International Airport. Once the Transit Visa is approved,it valid for only 14 days from the date of approval, and the duration of stay allowed in the UAE is 4 days from the date of entry. This visa cannot be extended, and overstaying will incur a fine.Citizens of the following countries are not eligible for the 96-hour visa on arrival: Yemen, Iraq, Afghanistan , Somalia, Egypt and Palestine.

Please note: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk. Please contact your nearest embassy for accurate, up-to-date information.
For more information please visit General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs - Sharjah